Sign In


Shanghai Symphony Orchestra pres. 20th Century Giants - Chamber Concert

Fri, Jun 14, 2024 , 7.15pm
Jaguar Shanghai Symphony Hall
1380 Fuxing Zhong Lu, near Baoqing Lu


The Shanghai Symphony Orchestra presents a collection of exquisite yet lesser-known chamber music works from the 20th century, featuring pieces from Stravinsky's, Copland's, and Dohnányi's Sextet. Although active in the 20th century, Dohnányi preferred the forms of romantic themes of late romanticism. This Sextet incorporates jazz elements and conveys his optimistic and open-minded spirit. June 14 at 7.15 pm.


  1. Carl Nielsen: Serenata in Vano (8')
  2. Stravinsky: Septet (11')
  3. Bill Douglas: Trio, for flute, clarinet and bassoon (12')
  4. Copland: Threnody No. 1: "In Memoriam Igor Stravinsky" (3')
  5. Copland: Threnody No. 2: "In Memoriam Beatrice Cunningham" (6')
  6. Ernő Dohnányi: Sextet (30')

*This concert will be approximately 85 minutes in duration, including an interval.