Sign In


Mezzo-Soprano Joyce DiDonato

Sun, Jun 9, 2024 , 7.30pm
Shanghai Grand Theatre
300 Renmin Da Dao, near Huangpi Bei Lu


Internationally renowned mezzo-soprano singer and three-time Grammy Award winner, Joyce DiDonato, regards "Eden" as perhaps her most significant work of concert, which profoundly reflects the spiritual connotation of our times. The idea of Eden stems from the saying that the opposite of war is not peace but creation. The program of Eden showcase Joyce's impressive repertoire and broad vision, spanning four centuries. In this wonderful semi-drama c concert, audience can enjoy works from Italian baroque composers Giovanni Valentini, Mariani, Cavalli, and Handel, to the classical Gluck, Misliweczek, the late romantic Wagner and Mahler, and then to the modern Eves and Copland. It will be held at Shanghai Grand Theatre on June 9, with tickets ranging from 180rmb to 880rmb.

Mezzo-Soprano: Joyce DiDonato 
Conductor/Violinist: Zefira Valova
Orchestra: Il Pomo d’Oro


  • CHARLES IVES: The Unanswered Question
  • RACHEL PORTMAN: The First Morning of the World
  • GUSTAV MAHLER: Ich atmet’ einen linden Duft!, from Rückert-Lieder
  • MARCO UCCELLINI: Sinfonia terza (a cinque stromenti) , Op.7
  • BIAGIO MARINI: Con le stelle in Ciel che mai, from Scherzi e canzone, Op.5
  • JOSEF MYSLIVEČEK: Aria Toglierò le sponde al mare, from Adamo ed Eva
  • AARON COPLAND: Nature, the gentlest mother, 8 Poems of Emily Dickinson for voice and chamber orchestra
  • GIOVANNI VALENTINI: Sonata enharmonica
  • FRANCESCO CAVALLI: Aria Piante ombrose, from La Calisto
  • CHRISTOPH WILLIBALD GLUCK: Danza degli spettri e delle furie: Allegro non troppo, from Orfeo ed Euridice, Wq. 30
  • CHRISTOPH WILLIBALD GLUCK: Recitativo accompagnato Misera, dove son!, from Ezio
  • CHRISTOPH WILLIBALD GLUCK: Aria Ah! non son io che parlo, from Ezio
  • GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL: Aria As with rosy steps the morn, from Theodora, HWV 68
  • GUSTAV MAHLER: Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen, from Rückert-Lieder
***All information on programme and duration is subject to change. **