Sign In


Bummer: This New 144-Hour Visa-Free Entry Doesn't Apply To Everyone

Jan 27, 2016 | 11:48 Wed
Sorry, citizens of Laos, Cambodia, Iraq, Afghanistan, Madagascar, Honduras, and many more -- the new six-day visa-free entry program doesn't apply to you. As Shanghai Daily reports, citizens from 51 countries (list after the jump) can enter Shanghai, Hangzhou, and Nanjing and stay for six days without a visa, as long as they're in transit. This goes into effect on January 30.

That "transit" bit is crucial, and always seems to mess up DJ bookings. Like the 72-hour visa, you gotta have a ticket to a third country for this to work. So, Seoul -> Shanghai -> Berlin would work, but Seoul -> Shanghai -> Seoul would not.

Eligible countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, The United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, The United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, The United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia and Albania.


Editorial Policy: At, all of our editorial content is conceived of by our team who live in and critique this city, for our readers who do the same. We don't accept payment for content, unless clearly labelled. Read our full editorial policy here.